Ja Morant Jersey Retirement

Murray State to honor the Grizzlies rookie

Producer Connor Dunning
January 28, 2020 - 1:48 pm

Murray State Athletics announced it will retire the No. 12 worn by Ja Morant in a ceremony at halftime of the Racer men's basketball game against SIUE Saturday (Feb. 1), at the CFSB Center in Murray, Kentucky.

The game is scheduled for 7 p.m. with the tip. 

Morant played two seasons at Murray State and grabbed national attention when he lead the Racers through the NCAA tournament last spring. He averaged 18.7pts, 8.2 ast, and 6.1 reb in 65 games during his college career.


Ja Morant's Murray State Career

  • Morant's run at Murray State lasted 65 games before he declared for the NBA Draft on April 3, 2019
  • In the 2017-18 and 2018-19 seasons, Morant helped the Racers win back-to-back Ohio Valley Conference championships, OVC Tournament championships and make two NCAA Tournament appearances.
  • The Racers went 54-11 overall and 32-4 in the OVC in his two seasons.
  • After beating Marquette in the 2019 NCAA Tournament, the Racers finished 29th in the final Associated Press poll.
  • In the Marquette game, Morant had just the ninth triple-double in NCAA Tournament history in MSU's fourth NCAA tourney win.
  • Winner of the Bob Cousy Award for the nation's best point guard.
  • Was a finalist for the John Wooden Award for national player of the year.
  • Was named the winner of the Lute Olson as the nation's player of the year
  • Morant was a 13-time All-America selection and was the OVC's first consensus All-America since 1971.
  • He finished the season with 331 assists, the sixth-most in NCAA single-season history.
  • He set the MSU and OVC assist records in only two seasons.
  • Morant set the MSU single-season scoring mark with 808 points.
  • In 2018-19, he averaged 24.5 points and 10.0 assists per game and became the first player since the NCAA made the assist an official stat in the 1983-84 season to average 20 points and 10 assists.
  • He was the 2019 OVC Player of the Year and OVC Tournament MVP and OVC Male Athlete of the Year.


Comments ()